I just don’t understand

As I continue to try new projects, and follow the instructors directions; I always balk at the idea of embroidering after creation. What is the enhanced benefit of this process? !? I generally will not follow those directions. I will embroider on the piece prior to creation. This allows me to work with a smaller area, and a one dimensional area. As I create the pattern to be embroidered I take into account the seam allowance and final position, and stitch conservatively to ensure that my presentation is visibly appealing.

But why, o’ why, am I constantly instructed to embroider as a last step? While I can see the benefit of not touching the embroidery piece through the rest of construction, it is a big jumbled mess (when working on a quilt per se) to get the job done.

Anyone’s input into this practice would be much appreciated! Until I’m convinced to the contrary, I will continue to create my embroidery pieces prior to finalized construction.

Leave a comment